Spare me the "Shoulds"

A little princess in the house
chirpy and chimerical…
dreamy and fanciful…
amused at the first dew drop…
tearful at a broken footwear…
fluttering butterfly…
a quiet sky at some moment…a bandit queen at another…
a little self-obsessed…wicked at times…
ambitious and aspirational…greedy for a few things…
demanding and supercilious…jealous sometimes…
too sweet to welcome you…
easier to love her back…
a flick of magic…
a dash of innocence…
a flair of resolution…
tip-toeing life’s piano …
swinging the world to the tune of her moods…

Little did she know…
that the universe follows a different edict…
Flooded with proscriptions and prescriptions…
Limitations to the flowing expressions…
and daunting eyes when there are none.
Social approvals, stigmas and norms abound…
Rules to struggle with chopsticks while she savours with a spoon…
Guidelines to direct the fire in her…  
Infinite “To Dos” for survival of the fittest…
Plastics smiles, heels and boring blue- gray apparels…
Reservations on even what all your heart can feel…

Perturbed, vexed, tetchy, she asks:

“Is it not like engineering or reverse engineering a tender rose?
Can you spare me the Shoulds?
Lemme evolve at my own pace?
Would you mind not morphing my spontaneity?
Is it ok if you leave my character un- programmed?
Could you let my vitality breathe?
Am I allowed to be just me?
For i am not just flesh and bone…
but an idea of unlimited freedom”